SOLISTICE TIME AT KOLKA, LATVIA

First, I really want to apologize to all my dear followers. I had to take breach from blogging because of being extremely busy, and I expect at least one more month of not being able to manage anything but job, job, job. Still there was summer solistice in Latvia and actually all over northern henisphere. Latvians have celebrated the longest day and shortest night of the year from the beginning of time, I suppose. They have been singing Ligo songs, drinking beer, eating cheese and jumping over the fire. I remember that my family has done it as long as I remember myself. It is also time of meeting with friends. This year we met at Kolka, next to the sea. We have been doing this for some years already. I am happy that I have my close friends since university years, it’s some 30 years already, and this year Kolka was going Ligo crazy. You will see it on photos.

Another thing that struck me just now. On the other side of the globe – on southern hemisphere there was winter solistice at the same time. And you know what? In Bolivia they are jumping over the fire the same way. One can start believing that all the world has had the same origins and then split up, accumulated cultural differences and now are trying not to loose them. Remember? all nations over the world have the flood topic in their mitology, right? And then? What happened then?

080

Our Jānis (if honestly Aivars :))))

088

Our fire

092

093

096

100

101

106

107

 

132

 

108

119

120

146

Leave a Reply

